14
Oct
08

Balloon race release

I finally finished the first version of balloon_race after a few days of hard work on it. You can get it in the link below.

DOWLOAD LINK IN HERE: http://www.fpsbanana.com/maps/68736

Blue going out of the hangar.

Blue going out of the hangar.

Some extra walls of text if you click on more.

The second version of balloon_race will come after my exams at school. That means I’ll start work on it in two weeks. It won’t take as long though since I already have a nice list of things to change thanks to the people at FPSBANANA and my friends from steam.

I already played it on the Outlaws TF2 server. The layout of the map is pretty good I heard. It’s lots fun and very interesting. But there is some room for improvement:

  • The teleporters in spawn need to be more obvious. People just ignored them or didn’t know where to go.
  • There need to be more teleporters so it will be less obvious where the enemy spawns on the ship.
  • I think I will add a lower deck to the ship so the treasure chest will be teleported inside. Maybe this would be a good spot for another teleporter exit.
  • There will be a couple of platforms sticking out of the cliff wall. Demoman and soldiers will be able to sticky/rocket jump to the capture points that way.
  • The team to first capture a point will get a two second head start. That means the other team will have to wait.
  • The third point (bird’s nest) will need to be more balanced. The first team to reach this point will get the top position so they have a strategic advantage. I’m not sure how I will do this with entities.
  • The architecture in the spawn needs to be improved a bit.
  • The edge of the skybox needs to be less apparent. Just some smart texture work here.

That’s about it I think for balloon_race_v2! For the next two weeks though, expect more blog stuff on here.

7 Responses to “Balloon race release”


  1. 1 Kairu Ishimaru
    20 October, 2008 at 02:11

    Interesting…

  2. 2 homie
    4 November, 2008 at 20:16

    Hey, I hope you read these comment, because I have been playing balloon race nonstop for the past three days and have some feedback…

    First, I LOVE the map. It’s incredibly fun to have a race of sorts, especially when the race is neck in neck. Your map breathes fresh life into TF2, and I have been enlightening my friends to its presence whenever I can.

    What I love about the map: The spawn teleports, the stopping to cap a point, the race to the finish if it’s tied up.

    The criticism I have concerning the map is mostly balance issues. Firstly, the map is currently reallly fun with a few players, but becomes a bit of a clusterfuck when there are more than 5 on a side. The boat is a bit crowded and VERY vulnerable from fire on all sides. I love the small size of the boat, but wish there was some more destructable cover for people on the deck, not necessarily pushing it, but those supporting (medic).

    Something must be done about the opening moments of the map. I’ve played really competitive games, but about 80 percent of all matches I play proceed as follows: team with most sentries gets on the boat first, proceeds to spawn camp and pulls waaaaay ahead of the other team. If one team is farther than the other, it would be great if there was a way to either catch up or slow down the other team. Not a penalty for being ahead, but a way for the losers to get their act together and catch up.

    Finally, sniping….. I know there’s probably nothing that can be done, but snipers reallly turn my friends off of this map. The water provides exceptional cover, and the large areas provide lots of distance, but sniping is really a detriment to the fun competitive nature of the map.
    I’ve had friends who were simply AMAZED at this map, hoping that VALVe notice it, until some snipers hop in the server and constantly pick them off from opposite sides of the map. Some kind of feature to make it more difficult for snipers to hit targets from corners of the map would be much appreciated, but I understand that it would be difficult.

    On the plus side, I really like one of the “features” I have noticed… if one leading team is capping a point and the lagging team arrives just as the point is capped, they have a good chance of pulling ahead by not needing to stop at the point. It’s a great way for the losing team to pull ahead at the last second and get a head start on the next cap, and I love it!

    I understand that mapping is difficult work and that certain quirks will never be entirely removed, but some revisions would be much appreciated. This map is incredible, and I hope to see more versions of the mechanic applied to more of your work! I’ll keep spreading the good word on this map!

  3. 17 November, 2008 at 06:38

    Woah, largest comment ever. 😛

    Thanks so much for the feedback, I’ll take it into account. Sorry for seeing it a bit late.

  4. 4 Jokeshop
    28 November, 2008 at 00:06

    One thing I love to do on this map is Spy; hopping on an enemy boat and riding it out with them until the oppertune moment arrives is truly thrilling.

    I think however that doing so is fairly difficult particularly on servers with 20-30 players. So i would really like to see some more entrance options for Spies to the enemy boat as currently you can only jump on at specific points. Perhaps allowing spies only to use enemy ladders? It would also be nice to be able to sit on top of the cabin. It can be done at the moment but its very difficult to pull off.

    Despite all this though, this is one of the most unique and entertaining maps i’ve played on for some time. Cant wait for v2.

  5. 5 A guy on your page
    28 November, 2008 at 01:16

    Hey, I really think this map is great, and it’s my favorite custom map that I’ve seen. I hope you get noticed by valve if you haven’t already. I have a question though, is the vmf available? I understand if you don’t want to make the map open source, but if you did, I am sure that a lot of novice map developers (myself included) would really appreciate the opportunity to see how you did this. Plus it would probably be nice to be able to see other people’s takes on the style and modifications.

    Anyway, please tell me if the vmf is available for modding, and if so, where.

    Thanks!

  6. 30 November, 2008 at 13:06

    @Jokeshop: Thanks for the kind comment. I’ll make it possible in v2 to stand on top of the cabin. I don’t think it’s possible to only let spies use ladders though.

    @A guy: I’ll post the vmf when I’m done with v2. It’s currently not open source. I’m sure some people have vmex’d it already though. 😛

  7. 7 A guy on your page
    1 December, 2008 at 01:05

    Ok, thanks for deciding to help us out. I’ll check this page every now and then and I’m sure v2 will be even better. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

