03
Jan
09

Balloon_race_v2, old vs. new 2

Just another quick little update. I’ve been feeling kinda bored with mapping lately so work on v2 has been realy slow. :\

newballoon0000

Old and new red balloon

At least I finished the new balloon. Double decks, looks nicer etc. Hit more for some newer screens.

I put the new balloons in the map. As requested, here’s some screenshots:

Hammer deleted the tip of the blue balloon. D:

The lower deck.

The lower deck

balloon_race_v20010

Staircase to said lower deck

I still need to work out the lighting but I’m getting into things again.

16 Responses to “Balloon_race_v2, old vs. new 2”


  1. 4 January, 2009 at 03:57

    Looks very nice. Although the Blu team’s ship will have a blue balloon, right? Also, will one of the spawn points be inside the ship then? And are there stairs inside the upper cabin? Question question question??? :p

    Also, is there any chance you can put up a picture of the interior?

  2. 4 January, 2009 at 16:52

    Edited the post for you.

    I might add a third teleport to the lower deck. There’s two right now: one on the top deck and one in the staircase.

  3. 3 Street_Wolf
    4 January, 2009 at 18:37

    Awesome, thanks a lot. 😀

  4. 7 January, 2009 at 16:20

    I can’t wait to see the new version I keep checking the site at least 2 times a week and watching the server for the new version 😛

    Keep up the good work!

  5. 7 January, 2009 at 21:56

    I’ll map some more tomorrow. Had to prepare for a job interview today you see. 😛

    Getting real close with the map though.

  6. 6 nomar
    8 January, 2009 at 11:17

    it’s a really nice map, ideal for fun servers or a rtd mod :P, little unbalanced at some points but i’m waiting for the v2 to come out

  7. 7 Street_Wolf
    11 January, 2009 at 22:20

    So Chucky, I’ve been meaning to ask, how exactly do you make a racing level like this, or wacky_races. What kinds of entities make up the ship/car/whatever the team is on?

    If you have time ever, it’d be really cool if you could make a tutorial on it, because the team race kind of thing is a type of map I’m really interested in making.

  8. 8 Geitiegg
    12 January, 2009 at 20:08

    @Street_wolf

    This might help:
    http://gamingmasters.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1766&p=17831#p17831

    I’m sure what Chucky writes will be much more descriptive/intuitive.

    FYI: A source of the map will be released at the same time v2 is.

  9. 9 kris
    23 January, 2009 at 08:24

    Baloon race is on high rotation on my server and ill gladly upload a beta 🙂

  10. 10 alex
    25 January, 2009 at 23:53

    ballon race is a great map, when do you think it’ll be done? and will demos and soldiers still get on top of the balloon? that was one of the big highlights of the game.

  11. 11 Doishy
    28 January, 2009 at 21:17

    Did you ever play the old assasinate maps in Tfc? If yes then you know that some classes were blocked out. Im thinking this gamemode (which is awesome by the way) would benefit greatly with maybe somehow having it so some classes are limited, others completely gone, with soldiers, heavies and medics being the main classes encouraged.
    =D

  12. 4 February, 2009 at 13:38

    Just a quick note to thank you for producing a very enjoyable map. I am a very noob TF2 player but I love this map. I love the bit of strategy involved in winning the race, I love the instant re spawn and teleport to the action. I love the frantic firefights around the capture points particularly number 3. I never get to the top of the scoreboard but I find that I am generally on the winning team because a lot of players don’t seem to understand the rules and just try to shoot anything that moves.

    As I have said I am a very noob TF2 player but I am learning a few things. The most basic being to stand at the wheel to keep your boat moving while trying to blast anyone standing at the wheel of the opposing boat. I find that changing class during the match can really help: Spy at start off to fool sentries, Heavy or Soldier while flying the boat and so on.

    What’s the best way of catching an enemy boat that has gained a substantial lead? Does anybody have any good strategies for this?

  13. 13 alex
    5 February, 2009 at 07:04

    mbp, if your decent at demoman you can jump on thier balloon even at a great distance or if thier really far use 3 stickies and jump in front of them to blast you way out thier with 1 health since u can land in the water you’ll be fine, i’ve dont this 2 to 3 times and slowed thier boat until they killed me, besides that theres little u can do. also a uber demoman can jump from 3 point to fourth with 7-8 stickies : ) i’ve had a alot of fun with that.

    when is this new version gonna be done!???!! its an awesome map!

  14. 14 Geitiegg
    6 February, 2009 at 00:05

    If you can’t wait for V2 you are welcome to try out Balloon_race_GM23.

    Gm23 is the base of V2, there are not that many features that are in v2 that aren’t in gm23, Minus the fancy spawn and the bigger balloon.

    From what Chucky last told me, the map is very near completion.

    24/7 Balloon race server (gm23): http://tinyurl.com/dj3k8l

  15. 15 Doug
    7 February, 2009 at 16:44

    I like your map but I thought the wheel looked stupid. I made a better looking one that I could send you if you wanted to add it to your ship.


Leave a Reply

